International Holcim Awards for Sustainable Construction

Awards Overview

Holcim Awards for Sustainable Construction

This primary healthcare facility in rural India by flying elephant studio has sophisticated …
This primary healthcare facility in rural India by flying elephant studio has sophisticated detailing and respects the specific qualities of the materials employed. The simple and elegant design provides gathering spaces used to provide health awareness programs to the local community, and won a Holcim Awards Acknowledgement prize in 2011.

Recognition of forward-looking projects

The Holcim Awards is an international competition that recognizes innovative projects and future-oriented concepts on regional and global levels. A total of USD 2 million in prize money is awarded in each three-year cycle.

The competition seeks projects that demonstrate an ability to stretch conventional notions about sustainable building and also balance environmental, social and economic performance – while also exemplifying architectural excellence and a high degree of transferability.

Holcim Awards (main category) and “Next Generation” (young professionals and students category)

There are two categories within the competition. The Holcim Awards (main category) is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms that showcase sustainable responses to technological, environmental, socioeconomic and cultural issues affecting contemporary building and construction. The Holcim Awards competition also seeks visions and bold ideas for the “Next Generation” (young professionals and students category).

Two-stage global competition

In the regional phase of the competition in each of the five world regions (Europe, North America, Latin America, Africa Middle East and Asia Pacific), independent juries supported by the Holcim Foundation’s partner universities evaluate submissions on the basis of the “target issues” for sustainable construction.

In the global phase of the competition, the 15 projects that receive Holcim Awards Gold, Silver or Bronze in these five regions are automatically qualified for the Global Holcim Awards competition which takes place in the following year.

Last Updated: March 24, 2014
Media & Downloads
Making waves on the global stage
Making waves on the global stage

The Vale Living with Lakes Centre officially opened in 2012. For Dr John Gunn, Canadian Research Chair in Stressed Aquatic Systems and Laurentian…