Holcim Foundation


Reed Kroloff to head LafargeHolcim Awards jury for North America in 2020

Regional jury for North America announced in world’s most significant competition for sustainable design

A jury of nine experts headed by Reed Kroloff, Rowe Family Dean, College of Architecture, at the Illinois Institute of Technology (USA), will evaluate entries in the 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards for the region of North America. The Awards seek real projects as well as bold ideas that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence. The competition offers a total of USD 2 million in prize money and is open for entries until February 25, 2020.

In North America, the jury includes Reed Kroloff (Head), as well as Marc Angélil, Professor of Architecture & Design, Department of Architecture, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (Switzerland); Sarah Burch, Canada Research Chair in Sustainability Governance & Innovation, University of Waterloo (Canada); Mitchell Joachim, Co-Founder of Terreform ONE (USA); Sharon Johnston, Partner at Johnston Marklee & Associates (USA); Jesse LeCavalier, Professor at the John H Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, & Design, University of Toronto (Canada); and Sarah Whiting, Dean of the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University (USA).

The jury will be complemented by Marilyne Andersen, member of the Academic Committee of the LafargeHolcim Foundation and Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (Switzerland), and Emmanuel Garcia, R&D Construction Solutions Director, LafargeHolcim Innovation Center (France).

Hosted by the Illinois Institute of Technology (USA), an associated university of the LafargeHolcim Foundation, the jury will rank submissions using the five “target issues” for sustainable construction: covering innovation and transferability (progress), ethical standards and social inclusion (people), resource and environmental performance (planet), economic viability and compatibility (prosperity), and contextual and aesthetic impact (place).

The Awards competition is open for entries until February 25, 2020 and recognizes projects and concepts from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials science, construction technology, and related fields. A comprehensive “Step-by-step” guide explains the evaluation criteria and illustrates how to enter the competition at www.lafargeholcim-awards.org

Since 2003, the LafargeHolcim Foundation advances the discourse on sustainable construction mainly through its Awards, the world’s most significant competition for sustainable design. The Foundation is an initiative of LafargeHolcim, the global leader in building materials and solutions.

Last Updated: September 03, 2019
Article Details
Zurich, Switzerland
Related Information
Related News
Call for exemplary construction projects, visionary design concepts
Call for exemplary construction projects, visionary design concepts

The Holcim Awards seeks leading projects of professionals as well as bold ideas from the Next Generation that combine sustainable…

Holcim Foundation

Search Help

Our website search engine covers the web pages including project descriptions and expert profiles, PDFs, images and videos on the Holcim Foundation website. To improve your search results, here are some tips:

Basic search

Our search defaults to term-pairing AND. If you search sustainable construction - then the search engine will look for any items containing sustainable AND construction


photovoltaic OR solar

Looks for either word


(clay OR mud) AND (school OR university)

Combine alternative terms for more specific searching


geothermal -heating

Excludes a term from results, automatically ANDs other terms listed


"zero carbon"

Use quotation marks to search for a specific phrase or combination

Wildcards (one or more characters)


Asterisk (*) matches any word or phrase - so archit* will find architect, architecture, architectural as well as architrave