Holcim Foundation


Nirmal Kishnani to head LafargeHolcim Awards jury for Asia Pacific in 2020

Regional jury for Asia Pacific announced in world’s most significant competition for sustainable design

A jury of nine experts headed by Nirmal Kishnani, Professor of Architecture, School of Design & Environment, at the National University of Singapore, will evaluate entries in the 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards for the region of Asia Pacific. The Awards seek real projects as well as bold ideas that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence. The competition offers a total of USD 2 million in prize money and is open for entries until February 25, 2020.

In Asia Pacific, the jury includes Nirmal Kishnani (Head) as well as Chanasit Cholasuek, Co-Founder of stu/D/O Architects (Thailand); Nondita Correa Mehrotra, Principal at RMA Architects (India); Richard Hassell, Co-Founder of WOHA (Singapore); Christopher Lee, Co-Founder & Principal, Serie Architects (London, Mumbai, Singapore and Beijing); and Erwin Viray, Head of the Architecture Sustainable Design Pillar at the Singapore University of Technology & Design (Singapore).

The jury will be complemented by members of the Academic Committee of the LafargeHolcim Foundation Marilyne Andersen, Full Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (Switzerland) and Philippe Block, Professor of Architecture & Structure, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (Switzerland), together with Sandra Boivin, R&D Support Director, LafargeHolcim Innovation Center (France).

Hosted by the National University of Singapore, an associated university of the LafargeHolcim Foundation, the jury will rank submissions using the five “target issues” for sustainable construction: covering innovation and transferability (progress), ethical standards and social inclusion (people), resource and environmental performance (planet), economic viability and compatibility (prosperity), and contextual and aesthetic impact (place).

The Awards competition is open for entries until February 25, 2020 and recognizes projects and concepts from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials science, construction technology, and related fields. A comprehensive “Step-by-step” guide explains the evaluation criteria and illustrates how to enter the competition at www.lafargeholcim-awards.org

Since 2003, the LafargeHolcim Foundation advances the discourse on sustainable construction mainly through its Awards, the world’s most significant competition for sustainable design. The Foundation is an initiative of LafargeHolcim, the global leader in building materials and solutions.

Last Updated: September 03, 2019
Article Details
Zurich, Switzerland
Related Information
Related News
Call for exemplary construction projects, visionary design concepts
Call for exemplary construction projects, visionary design concepts

The Holcim Awards seeks leading projects of professionals as well as bold ideas from the Next Generation that combine sustainable…

Holcim Foundation

Search Help

Our website search engine covers the web pages including project descriptions and expert profiles, PDFs, images and videos on the Holcim Foundation website. To improve your search results, here are some tips:

Basic search

Our search defaults to term-pairing AND. If you search sustainable construction - then the search engine will look for any items containing sustainable AND construction


photovoltaic OR solar

Looks for either word


(clay OR mud) AND (school OR university)

Combine alternative terms for more specific searching


geothermal -heating

Excludes a term from results, automatically ANDs other terms listed


"zero carbon"

Use quotation marks to search for a specific phrase or combination

Wildcards (one or more characters)


Asterisk (*) matches any word or phrase - so archit* will find architect, architecture, architectural as well as architrave