Holcim Awards 2023

Design what matters

Entries in the Holcim Awards 2023 are now closed

  • Open for entries: February 6
  • Close of Registration: March 30 (14:00hrs UTC)
  • Close of Competition: April 6 (14:00hrs UTC)
  • Jury evaluation: May/July 2023
  • Nominee verification: August/September 2023
  • Winners announced: November 18, 2023
  • The Holcim Awards competition recognizes and promotes projects that combine sustainable design and sustainable construction with architectural excellence.
  • The global competition is conducted in five geographic regions: Asia Pacific, Europe, Latin America, Middle East Africa, and North America.
  • Independent expert juries will evaluate submissions and nominate the winners.
  • Entries are evaluated using the Foundation’s renewed goals for sustainable construction (Uplifting places, a Healthy planet, Viable economics, and Thriving communities).
  • USD 1 million in total prize money (USD 200,000 per region) will be shared between winners of a Holcim Awards Gold, Silver, Bronze prize, and Acknowledgement prizes in each region.
  • Winners from all regions will be invited to the prize announcement to be held at the Venice Biennale of Architecture 2023.
View your Submission

Registered authors can view and download (but not edit) their submissions in the competition.

  • Project must not have started construction before January 1, 2022.
  • Projects may be at the following stages: detailed design, completed design, under construction, and completed construction.
  • Projects must be client-supported – commissioned by a client for the purpose of real-world execution.
  • Entries must provide information on detailed sustainability data points.